Anniversary!


Eight years ago today I threw open the doors of Sunset Cycles for the very first time; that was a Wednesday as I recall. We wanted to open mid-week to work out all of the bugs and made sure we knew how to sell something with our brand spanking new POS system. My oh my, how times have changed.

We outgrew our original northwest Portland location in less that two years, moved across the parking lot into a nearly 4,000′ space, then in June 2011 opened a second 3,000′ store in southwest Beaverton. Although we mostly serve the local communities, customers from as far away as Seattle and British Columbia frequent the stores. It’s very interesting how the internet has extended the reach of our customer base.

Periodically people ask me – “are you still having fun?” The answer is a resounding YES!. I still don’t get to ride my bike as much as I would like, but I’m working on that. -Roger

Roger in the Portland Store - 2006

About sunsetpdx

Bicycle Shop Owner

Leave a Reply

