Cycling For A Cure!


After years of failed New Years resolutions to get in shape, I have decided 2012 is going to be my year! For the next 5 months I’ll be riding all over Portland increasing my miles each week so that I can ride 100 miles in America’s Most Beautiful Bike Ride on June 3rd. Team in Training (TNT) is an endurance training program in support of The Leukemia & Lymphoma Society. The goal I share with this program is to raise money for research and patient support. Since 1988, there have been 540,000 participants who have raised over $1.2 billion!

My greatest source of inspiration for completing this century is my friend, TJ Reed. TJ was diagnosed with Chronic Myelomonocytic (CMML) in the summer of 2004, which then later progressed into Acute Myelomonocytic Leukemia (AMML). He received a stem cell transplant and fought his way to remission. After that first transplant, he had 6 healthy years. September 1st 2010, ironically the same date he had his first transplant 6 years earlier TJ experienced a recurrence. TJ underwent a second transplant with great results. He was told that he had 0% cancer in his blood and that the transplant was successful. Unfortunately he experienced another relapse. This time more aggressive than ever. He passed away July 6th, 2011. TJ was only 28 years old.

Please support me by contributing to the cause. My goal is to raise $3600 by May 1st. No amount is too small and every donation is 100% tax deductable. 75% of the money I earn goes directly to The Leukemia & Lymphoma Society to help save lives.

Follow my training progress here and on Sunset Cycles Facebook. Keep an eye out for raffles, contests and specials to help me reach my fundraising goals!

Donate directly online http://pages.teamintraining.org/oswim/ambbr12/sunsetcyclesashley

About sunsetpdx

Bicycle Shop Owner

One response to “Cycling For A Cure!”

  1. Mark Loder says :

    Go for it girl! Let’s get the SC Team behind your terrific effort and cause. Count me in and I’ll stop by the shop and sign up very soon!
    Mark L.

Leave a Reply

